Review: Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys (Blog Tour)

November 9, 2016 Blog Tour, Reviews 2 ★★★★½

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys (Blog Tour)Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys
Published by Delacorte Press on November 8, 2016
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: the publisher
Goodreads
My rating: four-half-stars
A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans of THE CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.
But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.

Hey everyone! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys (November 8, 2016 – Delacorte Press). I absolutely LOVED this book!!! It was an enthralling read and I’m really excited to share my review with you! Enjoy!

~*~*~

Dead Girls Society was an amazing thrill-ride of a book – intriguing and a bit terrifying. It was like The Skulls meets The Breakfast Club meets I Know What You Did Last Summer. I was excited to read it from the second I learned about it and it definitely didn’t disappoint!

There are a ton of characters in this book and they’re all intriguing and unique. I really liked the main character, Hope. She was brave and foolish and fierce and insane, all at once. Hartley was fearless and tough. The way her story ended shocked the crap out of me. Farrah surprised me in more ways than one. She broke the stereotypical mold she started out in and quickly became one of the more intriguing characters. I feel like we learned the least about Nikki, so it’s hard to say much about her. And Lyla… I don’t even know where to begin…

As for the guys, I wasn’t a huge fan of either Ethan or Tucker. I understand the reasons behind their actions, but Ethan acted like a child, more times than not, and Tucker just… I guess he wasn’t so bad, but I never fully liked him. I shipped Hope and Ethan in the beginning, but by the end, I just wanted Hope to tell both of them to eff off. I didn’t trust either of them, so that probably effected my feelings towards them a bit..

Every time I had to put this book down, I didn’t want to. The suspense was so intense – trying to figure out who’s behind this and who we can trust – and agonizing! Situations often escalated quickly and I reached a point where I was just didn’t trust anyone – and, as it turned out, I had good reason not to trust anyone! I had so many crazy theories and they were all over the place.

And then that ending.. The big reveal… HOLY CRAP. I never saw it coming. Once all the pieces of the puzzle fell into place, it made perfect sense. But before that? I never even got close to figuring it out. The very ending, especially? HOLY CRAP IT WAS SO I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER AND I LOVED IT AND I NEED BOOK TWO NOW, PLEASE!

Overall, if you couldn’t tell, I LOVED this book and everyone needs to read it ASAP! I was already a fan of Michelle Krys from reading Hexed. But this book and its intense thrill-ride has solidified my love for this author and her amazing stories.

~*~*~

Blog Tour Schedule:

2 Responses to “Review: Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys (Blog Tour)”

Leave a Reply