Review: What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

February 20, 2021 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Review: What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam SilveraWhat If It's Us by Adam Silvera, Becky Albertalli
Series: What If It's Us #1
Published by HarperTeen on October 9, 2018
Pages: 437
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
My rating: four-stars
Arthur is only in New York for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it’s that the universe can deliver a showstopping romance when you least expect it.

Ben thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn’t be on his way to the post office carrying a box of his ex-boyfriend’s things.

But when Arthur and Ben meet-cute at the post office, what exactly does the universe have in store for them?

Maybe nothing. After all, they get separated.

Maybe everything. After all, they get reunited.

But what if they can’t quite nail a first date . . . or a second first date . . . or a third?

What if Arthur tries too hard to make it work . . . and Ben doesn’t try hard enough?

What if life really isn’t like a Broadway play?

But what if it is?

This book has been on my TBR for a VERY long time. It was also the first book I read in almost a year – and I can’t express how happy I am that this was the first book I decided to read. It was fun, cute, fluffy and a little bit angsty. It’s by one of my favorite authors – Becky Albertalli – and it made me even more excited to read more of Adam Silvera’s books.

First of all, the Dear Evan Hansen references. Oh my god!!! If you read my newest On Meredith’s Mind post, you’ll know that I’ve been obsessed with Dear Evan Hansen for over a year now. So that, right off the bat, was one of the main reasons I wanted to read it. And it definitely did not disappoint! All the DEH and broadway references made me so happy!

Also, Arthur!! I adored Arthur to pieces. He was so relatable and adorable and anxious and Jewish and I just wanted to hug him. I loved him and being in his head. His relationship with Ben was adorable and felt so realistic. I loved the series of awkward dates. The “getting to know you” phase of a relationship can be SO awkward, and it’s a nice change from all the perfect fairytale dates that Hollywood always plays up. That’s not always reality and it was nice to see that acknowledged.

I also loved Ben and Dylan’s bromance. It was hilarious and adorable.

This book was also super quotable. Some of my favorites were:

“Box Boy dates guys. I’M A GUY.”

“I need to ship myself with me for a bit.”

“Speaking from the dick was never a logical step.”

My only issue with this book was the ending, but it definitely didn’t ruin the book for me, or lower my overall rating. I still loved the book with my entire heart. Knowing there’s a sequel also helped quell my disappointment. Waiting until October is going to be torturous, but I’m so so so excited for the sequel!!!

Overall, I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book and HIGHLY recommend it for fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, as well as for fans of rom-coms and broadway musicals.

Leave a Reply