Waiting on Wednesday #15: Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton

June 28, 2017 Waiting On Wednesday 2

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine. Its purpose is to highlight upcoming releases we’re dying to get our hands on.

~*~*~

I haven’t done a Waiting on Wednesday post in forever, but Words on Bathroom Walls (July 4, 2017 – Random House Books for Young Readers) sounds intense and epic, so I wanted to share it with you. If it’s not on your TBR already, it should be!

Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.

Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.

Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.

Goodreads | Amazon

Book Depository | Kobo | IndieBound

~*~*~

About the Author: 
Now, she lives in Huntington Beach, CA with her husband and daughter where she can usually be coaxed out of hiding with tea, Crunchies, and Haribo gummy bears.

She received an MFA in Creative Writing from Chapman University.

When she’s not talking to herself, reading to her daughter, or watching her favorite movies on an endless loop, she writes contemporary YA fiction.

She has the worst sense of direction on the planet.

Her debut YA novel, WORDS ON BATHROOM WALLS, is forthcoming from Random House BFYR (July 4, 2017).

Find Julia on Twitter

2 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday #15: Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton”

  1. Rabiah

    Can’t wait for this one either! Looks like it’s going to be a bit of a tough read as well, re: subject matter. But I’m sure the humour is going to be great too. Great pick!! :D

Leave a Reply